Unexpected tour of the White House…

God never fails to amaze me everyday


Lord Jesus always blows me away. He definitely surprises me when I expect it the least. When I was in Madagascar prior my being selected to be part of this Mandela Washington fellowship 2014, I’d heard so many people say something like “After the 6-week academic institute in different US universities, all the 500 Young African Leaders Initiative fellows will attend a 3-day summit with President Obama at the White House.” Of course I didn’t apply for that reason but honestly who wouldn’t be thrilled to enter the White House? 😛

Big surprise: God just decided I’d be among the selected 500 fellows out of the 50,000 applicants all around Africa. Ii went to Rutgers University during the very first 6 weeks and now it turns out that the summit took place in the hotel where we, all the fellows, were staying. It was a terrific summit. I LOVED it so much and I am still thankful for it but like honestly the White House thing still didn’t get out of my mind. haha. My fellows were quite disappointed at some point…but guess what? 2 weeks prior the end of our 2-month internship in the States, I read my email inbox and i just get aware the White House sent us an invitation to take a tour of the White House. Who do you think wouldn’t be excited about that? I did not necessarily jump like I always do but I was super happy 🙂

We actually were not allowed to bring cameras, video recorders, handbags, bookbags, backpags or purses, food or beverages, personal grooming items (i.e. makeup, lotion, etc.) That being said, I actually only took my room key, my phone and my passport with me. Also, I brought along my umbrella because it was starting to rain.

Taking a tour of the White House was pretty exciting to me. We got in a couple of rooms; to name a few we entered the Blue Room, the Red Room, the Green Room, the Dining Room…We got to see old pictures of US presidents and their First Ladies everywhere. Those are probably things that you could see on the internet but the fact that you actually made it there instead makes the whole thing different. You get to see on live where they are having dinner, where the important events at the White House are happening, etc. I also loved to see the family pictures on the walls. One of the photos that struck me was a photo where President Obama was playing on the yard with Malia, Sasha and their dog. It might not mean anything to people but it does mean a lot to me because I love my dad and I am among those people who are convinced that fathers can influence their children’s lives forever. Fathers should resolve to live by as the leader all along mothers. That is what the photo showed to me. He devoted time to playing with his kids and sharing a moment of joy with them. That is just fabulous. That also made me aware that if you are a president it doesn’t mean that you neglect your responsibility as a parent. I would personally judge a president’s leadership by seeing how well he is within his own family.

I am not going to make any comments on my photos but I will let you make them speak 🙂 Just feel like sharing how grateful and thankful to God I am for this opportunity to enter the White House and to be invited to see what it is in there. I really love to say “God is great” because to me He really is 🙂

 20140913_114049 (2) 1

unnamed (1)

unnamed.

I a 

Leave a comment